spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


PSLV launches remote sensing, other satellites
Posted: Mon, Jul 12, 2010, 11:49 AM ET (1549 GMT)
PSLV launch of Cartosat-2B (ISRO) An Indian rocket placed a remote sensing satellite and four smaller spacecraft into orbit on Monday. The Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) lifted off from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre on India's east coast at 11:52 pm EDT Sunday (0352 GMT, 9:22 am Indian time Monday) and placed into orbit the Cartosat-2B satellite. The spacecraft, weighing nearly 700 kilograms at launch, is the latest in a series of remote sensing satellites. It features a panchromatic camera that can take images with resolutions better than 1 meter per pixel. Also launched on the same rocket were four smaller satellites ranging in mass from less then 1 kilogram to 116 kilograms. One of the satellites was built by Indian students and the other three were from Algeria and Canada.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia launches astronomy satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:18 PM ET (2018 GMT)

Vega launch of UAE satellite fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:17 PM ET (2017 GMT)

NASA reassigns leadership of exploration programs
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:16 PM ET (2016 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, July 16
Galileo sat-nav system still without service
BBC — 7:21 am ET (1121 GMT)
Europe's GPS system stops working
The Independent — 7:20 am ET (1120 GMT)
Galileo’s initial services rocky patch continues
GPS World — 7:19 am ET (1119 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list