spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Curiosity rover takes first drive
Posted: Sat, Jul 24, 2010, 8:34 AM ET (1234 GMT)
Mars Science Laboratory illustration (NASA/JPL) The next NASA rover to be launched to Mars took its first moves on Friday in a clean room on Earth. The Mars Science Laboratory, also known as Curiosity, moved about one meter back and forth during tests at JPL. The rover, the largest ever built for a Mars mission, is scheduled for launch in 2011, two years later than planned because of difficulties building the large, complex spacecraft. Powered by an RTG, the rover is designed to operate on the planet for several years.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two broadcasting satellites
Posted: Thu, May 28 10:05 AM ET (1405 GMT)

Air Force certifies SpaceX for military launches
Posted: Wed, May 27 10:29 AM ET (1429 GMT)

NASA selects instruments for Europa mission
Posted: Wed, May 27 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)

news links
Saturday, May 30
SMC Awards Combined Orbital Operations Logistics Sustainment Contract
SpaceFlight Insider — 8:26 am ET (1226 GMT)
China plans to launch dark matter probe
Xinhua — 8:22 am ET (1222 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list