spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
Russian cosmonauts perform ISS spacewalk
Posted: Tue, Jul 27, 2010, 8:12 PM ET (0012 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2010 July 27 (NASA) Two Russian cosmonauts completed an EVA outside the International Space Station early Tuesday. Fyodor Yurchikhin and Mikhail Kornienko completed the six-hour, 42-minute spacewalk at 6:53 am EDT (1053 GMT), using the Pirs docking module as the airlock for the EVA. The two set up a Kurs automated rendezvous system on the station's new Rassvet module and also replaced an old television camera on the aft end of the Zvezda module, jettisoning the old camera into space. During the EVA two small objects floated away from the station; one of the objects was later identified as a cable clamp left behind from an earlier spacewalk.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Control of Russian research satellite restored
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)

Delta 4 launch rescheduled for Monday
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 1:56 PM ET (1756 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, July 29
Mars rover Opportunity makes travel history
Deutsche Welle — 4:32 am ET (0832 GMT)
MESSENGER Gets Closer to Mercury than Ever Before
JHUAPL — 4:31 am ET (0831 GMT)
Venus Express: up above the clouds so high
ESA — 4:31 am ET (0831 GMT)
Startup Weekend: Space Was a Blast!
Parabolic Arc — 4:30 am ET (0830 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list