spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches KA-SAT
Posted: Mon, Dec 27, 2010, 11:38 AM ET (1638 GMT)
Proton launch of KA-SAT (ILS) A Proton rocket successfully launched a European communications satellite Monday, three weeks after the previous Proton launch failed. The Proton M lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 4:51 pm EST Sunday (2151 GMT Sunday, 3:51 am local time Monday); its Breeze M upper stage released the KA-SAT satellite into geosynchronous transfer orbit a little over nine hours later. The satellite, a Eurostar E3000 model built by EADS Astrium, weighed 6,150 kilograms at launch. It carries a Ka-band payload that will be used by satellite operator Eutelsat to provide high-speed Internet access across Europe and the Mediterranean Basin. The launch came just over three weeks after another Proton failed to place three Glonass navigation satellites into orbit. That problem was traced to the upper stage, a different model than the Breeze M, clearing the way for this launch.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

Astronomers find water in atmosphere of exoplanet
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)

China launches three smallsats
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:00 AM ET (1200 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 20
SpaceX seeks to buy every property near its facilities
KVEO-TV Rio Grande Valley, TX — 7:57 am ET (1157 GMT)
The startling plausibility of Ad Astra
The Week — 7:55 am ET (1155 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list