spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
Cosmonauts complete ISS spacewalk
Posted: Sat, Jan 22, 2011, 8:20 AM ET (1320 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2010 Jan 21 (NASA) Two Russian astronauts performed a spacewalk outside the International Space Station, successfully completing a number of tasks. Dmitry Kondratyev and Oleg Skripochka started their five-hour, 23-minute spacewalk at 9:29 am EST (1429 GMT) Friday from the Pirs airlock module. The two carried out a series of miscellaneous tasks, including the installation of a high-speed data transmission antenna on the Russian segment of the station, the retrieval of experiments on the exterior of the Zvezda module, and the installation of a TV camera on the Rassvet module to support dockings by Progress and Soyuz spacecraft there. The two cosmonauts are scheduled to perform another spacewalk on February 16 to install new scientific instruments on the station's exterior as well as deploy a small amateur radio satellite.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
GAO report warns SLS first launch date could slip
Posted: Fri, Jul 25 8:42 AM ET (1242 GMT)

Russian research satellite unresponsive to commands
Posted: Fri, Jul 25 8:30 AM ET (1230 GMT)

Progress launches, arrives at ISS
Posted: Thu, Jul 24 8:09 AM ET (1209 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 25
Outlook grim for orbiting Russian zero-G sex geckos
Ars Technica — 8:11 am ET (1211 GMT)
What Will Happen to the Mating Geckos Lost in Space?
Motherboard — 8:11 am ET (1211 GMT)
Thales Alenia Space to build Telkom-3S satellite for Indonesia
Thales Alenia Space — 8:09 am ET (1209 GMT)
Virgin Galactic Announces Todd Ericson as Space Pilot
Virgin Galactic — 8:07 am ET (1207 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list