spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: November 24-25
Posted: Mon, Nov 26, 2001, 10:02 AM ET (1502 GMT)
  • Two rockets are scheduled for launch Monday, the first in over a month worldwide. A Soyuz rocket is scheduled to launch Monday afternoon from Baikonur, carrying the Progress M1-7 (also known as Progress 6) cargo spacecraft to the International Space Station. Liftoff is scheduled for 1:24 pm EST (1824 GMT). An Ariane 44LP will launch Monday evening carrying the DIRECTV-4S direct broadcasting satellite. Liftoff from Kourou, French Guiana is scheduled for 7:35 pm EST (0035 GMT Tuesday).
  • If the cost of the International Space Station cannot be brought under control the ISS should be converted into an unmanned facility, an editorial published in the New York Times on Sunday suggested. The unbylined editorial said that if prospects for turning the station around "look really bleak" in two years, NASA should consider turning the station into an orbiting experiment platform visited only occasionally by crews.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Monday, November 20
Tucson Tech: Small-sat launcher Vector lining up launch sites
Arizona Daily Star — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Poroshenko said that Ukraine is a space power
The Stopru — 1:49 am ET (0649 GMT)
UK to clear the way for US space rocket launches in Britain
The Daily Telegraph — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)
‘PSLV built by domestic industry by 2020’
The Hindu — 1:43 am ET (0643 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list