spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronauts arrive for shuttle launch
Posted: Mon, Nov 26, 2001, 10:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)
STS-108 patch The crew of the space shuttle Endeavour arrived at the Kennedy Space Center late Sunday as preparations continue for Thursday night's launch. The seven-person crew of STS-108, including the three members of the Expedition Four space station crew, flew into KSC Sunday evening in advance of the launch, scheduled for 7:41 pm EST Thursday (0041 GMT Friday). The countdown for the launch is slated to begin Monday night. Security around the complex is the highest for a launch since a series of Department of Defense shuttle missions in the mid and late 1980s. NASA has backed off from earlier plans not to publicize the countdown or launch time, as the launch time had been published prior to the post-September 11 security enhancements.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list