spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dnepr launches several satellites
Posted: Thu, Aug 18, 2011, 8:21 AM ET (1221 GMT)
Dnepr launch (Kosmotras) A Dnepr rocket placed a Ukrainian remote sensing satellite and several smaller satellites into orbit on Wednesday. The Dnepr rocket lifted off from the Yasny launch base in southern Russia at 3:12 am EDT (0712 GMT) Wednesday and placed several satellites into orbit. The rocket's primary payload Sich-2, a 169-kilogram remote sensing satellite. The rocket also launched the NigeriaSat-2 and NigeriaSat-X satellites remote sensing satellites built by Surrey Satellite Technology Ltd. for Nigeria, weighing 300 and 100 kilograms, respectively. Other satellites on the rocket included the AprizeSat-5 and -6 small communications satellites, the Turkish RASAT remote sensing satellite, and EduSat, an Italian education satellite.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief


Crew Dragon suffered problem with parachutes in recent test
Posted: Sun, May 12 10:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)

news links
Sunday, May 19
Germany’s Max Planck Society becomes newest member of SKA Organisation
Square Kilometer Array — 10:33 am ET (1433 GMT)
On Pluto the Winter is approaching, and the atmosphere is vanishing into frost
Instituto de Astrofísica e Ciências do Espaço — 10:32 am ET (1432 GMT)
Forecasting the hunt for the first supermassive black holes
Instituto de Astrofísica e Ciências do Espaço — 10:32 am ET (1432 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list