spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russian communications satellite stranded in transfer orbit
Posted: Thu, Aug 18, 2011, 2:13 PM ET (1813 GMT)
Proton-M launch of Express-AM4 (Roscosmos) A European-built Russian communications satellite, launched Thursday on a Proton rocket, has been stranded in a transfer orbit after the rocket's upper stage malfunctioned. The Proton-M rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 5:25 pm EDT Wednesday (2125 GMT Wednesday, 3:25 am local time Thursday) carrying the Express-AM4 satellite for Russian satellite operator RSCC. The satellite was to be released by the Briz-M upper stage after five engine burns, but telemetry from the upper stage was lost after the fourth burn. The cause of the problem and the status of the spacecraft, including whether it may be possible to eventually put the satellite into geosynchronous orbit, are unknown. The satellite, a Eurostar E3000 model built by EADS Astrium, weighed over 5,700 kilograms at launch and carries a payload of C-, Ka-, Ku- and L-band transponders.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief


Crew Dragon suffered problem with parachutes in recent test
Posted: Sun, May 12 10:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)

news links
Sunday, May 19
Germany’s Max Planck Society becomes newest member of SKA Organisation
Square Kilometer Array — 10:33 am ET (1433 GMT)
On Pluto the Winter is approaching, and the atmosphere is vanishing into frost
Instituto de Astrofísica e Ciências do Espaço — 10:32 am ET (1432 GMT)
Forecasting the hunt for the first supermassive black holes
Instituto de Astrofísica e Ciências do Espaço — 10:32 am ET (1432 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list