spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Chinese launch fails
Posted: Fri, Aug 19, 2011, 6:50 AM ET (1050 GMT)
Long March 2C launch of SJ11-03 (Xinhua) The launch of a Chinese experimental satellite on a Long March Thursday failed to place the satellite into orbit, although Chinese officials said it would not delay at least one upcoming launch. A Long March 2C rocket lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at 5:28 am EDT (0928 GMT, 5:28 pm Beijing time) Thursday carrying the SJ 11-04 satellite. According to official Chinese media, the satellite failed to enter orbit because of a malfunction with the rocket; no further details on the failure, including the phase of flight when the malfunction took place, were disclosed. The satellite was reported by Chinese media to be an experimental spacecraft, although Western observers believed the satellite, like others in the Shijian 11 series, had military applications. The failure came as China was conducting a surge of launches, including two within the last week. Chinese officials said Friday that the failure would not delay plans to launch a space station module prototype, Tiangong-1, on a Long March 2F rocket later this month.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief


Crew Dragon suffered problem with parachutes in recent test
Posted: Sun, May 12 10:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)

news links
Sunday, May 19
Germany’s Max Planck Society becomes newest member of SKA Organisation
Square Kilometer Array — 10:33 am ET (1433 GMT)
On Pluto the Winter is approaching, and the atmosphere is vanishing into frost
Instituto de Astrofísica e Ciências do Espaço — 10:32 am ET (1432 GMT)
Forecasting the hunt for the first supermassive black holes
Instituto de Astrofísica e Ciências do Espaço — 10:32 am ET (1432 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list