spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle launch delayed until Tuesday, ISS EVA on Monday
Posted: Fri, Nov 30, 2001, 9:29 PM ET (0229 GMT)
STS-108 patch The launch of the space shuttle Endeavour has been delayed until Tuesday, after an EVA on Monday by two members of the ISS crew to secure a Progress spacecraft docked to the station. The launch of Endeavour on mission STS-108, originally scheduled for Thursday, was delayed until Friday, and then delayed again after mission managers decided to wait until the Progress spacecraft, which arrived at the station on Wednesday but failed to "hard dock" with the station, is securely attached. This will require a contingency EVA by ISS cosmonauts Vladimir Dezhurov and Mikhail Turin on Monday. The two will remove an obstruction, believed to be a cable, from the docking port, which should allow the Progress to mate securely with the station. Once the Progress is secured, NASA is likely to give the go-ahead for the shuttle mission. Flight regulations require that the Progress be secured before the shuttle docks, to prevent vibrations from the shuttle docking from jarring the Progress loose or otherwise damaging the station. If the Progress problem is solved, the shuttle will launch at 5:45 pm EST (2245 GMT) Tuesday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, September 22
D.C. Digest: Sen. Inhofe mulls space force proposal
Tulsa World — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)
SpaceX’s Moon Trip Is the Ultimate Artist Residency
The Atlantic — 9:18 am ET (1318 GMT)
Astronaut foresees coming boost in NASA interest
FederalNewsRadio.com — 9:17 am ET (1317 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list