spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches three navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Dec 2, 2001, 11:15 PM ET (0415 GMT)
Proton launch (file photo) A Proton booster launched three Russian navigation satellites on Saturday. The Proton lifted off from Baikonur, Kazakhstan at 1:04 pm EST (1804 GMT) and placed into orbit three Uragan satellites. The three satellites — two standard Uragan models and one advanced Uragan-M version — will be used as part of the GLONASS network, a navigation system similar to the United States's Global Positioning System (GPS). Only six Uragan satellites were operating prior to Saturday's launch, even though the GLONASS network was designed to use as many as 24 spacecraft. The Uragan-M spacecraft is designed last twice as long in orbit as conventional Uragan spacecraft, in an effort to keep as many GLONASS spacecraft operating as possible.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list