spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta launches two spacecraft
Updated: Fri, Dec 7, 2001, 1:33 PM ET (1833 GMT)
Originally Posted: Fri, Dec 7, 2001, 1:32 PM ET (1832 GMT)
Delta 2 launch file photo (Boeing) A Delta 2 booster successfully launched two science satellites Friday morning. The Delta 2 lifted off on schedule at 10:07 am EST (1507 GMT) from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California. Its first payload, the French-American Jason 1 spacecraft, separated from the Delta's upper stage 55 minutes after liftoff; the second payload, the Thermosphere Ionosphere Mesosphere Energetics and Dynamics (TIMED) spacecraft, separated two hours and seven minutes after launch. Jason 1 will monitor world ocean circulation, continuing the work started by the Topex/Poseidon satellite. TIMED will study a region of the Earth’s upper atmosphere between 60 and 180 kilometers altitude that has been only poorly studied in the past. The launch is the seventh and last Delta launch for 2001.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list