spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX reschedules Dragon launch for May 19
Posted: Sun, May 6, 2012, 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)
Falcon 9 hot fire test on 2012 Apr 30 (SpaceX) SpaceX announced late Friday it had rescheduled its Dragon test flight to the International Space Station for May 19 as it completes software testing on the cargo vehicle. The Falcon 9 carrying the Dragon on the "C2+" mission, part of NASA's Commercial Orbital Transportation Services (COTS) program, is now slated for launch at 4:55 am EDT (0855 GMT) May 19, with a backup date of May 22. SpaceX has had t o push back the launch from April 30 to May 7, and then again from May 7, in order to complete tests of the software used by the Dragon spacecraft to ensure it can safely approach and berth with the ISS. Should the Dragon successfully complete those tests SpaceX could begin regular cargo flights to the station later this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two broadcasting satellites
Posted: Thu, May 28 10:05 AM ET (1405 GMT)

Air Force certifies SpaceX for military launches
Posted: Wed, May 27 10:29 AM ET (1429 GMT)

NASA selects instruments for Europa mission
Posted: Wed, May 27 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)

news links
Thursday, May 28
We are waking up to a new horizon in outer space
The National (UAE) — 8:20 pm ET (0020 GMT)
Britain’s spaceman
The Economist — 8:19 pm ET (0019 GMT)
Mars mission prep includes UF scientist
Palm Beach (FL) Post — 8:17 pm ET (0017 GMT)
Out of this world: Astronaut Kelly, girlfriend learn to live apart
Houston Chronicle — 8:16 pm ET (0016 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list