spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


DigitalGlobe rejects GeoEye offer
Posted: Tue, May 8, 2012, 6:59 AM ET (1059 GMT)
WorldView 2 spacecraft illus. (DigitalGlobe) Commercial remote sensing company DigitalGlobe has rejected a offer by rival GeoEye to acquire the company, saying it will wait until the end of the federal budget cycle to make a decision on whether to make its own bid to acquire GeoEye. DigitalGlobe said in a statement Sunday that the $17-per-share offer by GeoEye "substantially undervalues" the company. DigitalGlobe confirmed that the two companies had been in discussions about a potential acquisition for the last three months, with DigitalGlobe making its own offers to acquire GeoEye that were rejected. Those discussions were spurred by the 2013 federal budget proposal, which seeks to cut funding on a major contract, EnhancedView, that both companies have by more than half. DigitalGlobe said it would wait the outcome of budget deliberations in Congress before making any decisions on a deal with GeoEye.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Tuesday, May 3
Light Echoes Map Planet-forming Disk
Sky & Telescope — 7:47 pm ET (2347 GMT)
Mars 2020 rover: How NASA will look for life with a shoestring budget
Christian Science Monitor — 7:44 pm ET (2344 GMT)
How to watch Mercury's rare trip across the sun
Christian Science Monitor — 7:43 pm ET (2343 GMT)
Gravitational wave researchers win $3 million Breakthrough Prize
Christian Science Monitor — 7:42 pm ET (2342 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list