spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Zenit launches five satellites
Posted: Tue, Dec 11, 2001, 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)
A Zenit 2 booster successfully launches a Russian weather satellite and four other spacecraft Monday. The Zenit lifted off from Baikonur, Kazakhstan at 12:19 pm EST (1719 GMT) and placed its payload of five satellites into a 1018-km sun-synchronous orbit. The primary payload of the Zenit was Meteor-3M, a Russian weather satellite that is also carrying the American Sage-3 ozone monitoring instrument. Also flown on the Zenit were two other Russian satellites: Kompass, a geophysics spacecraft, and Reflektor, which will study orbital debris. The Zenit also placed into orbit the Maroc-Tubsat remote sensing satellite for Morocco and the Badr-B research satellite for Pakistan. The launch is the only one for the Zenit 2 this year, although two Zenit 3SL boosters were launched for the multinational Sea Launch operation.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 18
Lunar outpost in 5 years? 2 companies unveil plans
My News 13 Orlando — 6:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ULA, Bigelow plan to place inflatable space habitat near moon by 2022
Denver Business Journal — 6:40 am ET (1040 GMT)
Virgin Galactic CEO to speak at Dubai Airshow
Arabian Business — 6:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
Elon Musk's 4 Success Mantras From SpaceX And Tesla
Forbes.com — 6:36 am ET (1036 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list