spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Baikonur dispute delays three launches
Posted: Wed, May 30, 2012, 4:55 AM ET (0855 GMT)
A dispute between the Russian and Kazakh governments has postponed three scheduled launches from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan, including one carrying a European weather satellite. The Kazakh government has blocked the launches from the spaceport, operated by Russia, because of concerns about the location of drop zones where stages from the launches will fall to earth. The launches, planned for polar orbits, require new drop zones not in the existing agreement between the two countries about the use of the spaceport. The dispute has pushed back the Soyuz launch of Europe's MetOp-B weather satellite, as well as launches of a cluster of satellites in June and of a Russian remote sensing satellite in August.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Air Force certifies SpaceX for military launches
Posted: Wed, May 27 10:29 AM ET (1429 GMT)

NASA selects instruments for Europa mission
Posted: Wed, May 27 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)

news links
Thursday, May 28
Strawberry farm to be transformed into astronaut training facility
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:43 am ET (0943 GMT)
NASA selects CU science instrument for Europa mission
KUSA-TV Denver — 5:39 am ET (0939 GMT)
NASA visits outback Queensland
Warwick (Qld.) Daily News — 5:39 am ET (0939 GMT)
Man in the Arena
Seattle Post-Intelligencer — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)
4 set to be inducted into U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame
My News 13 Orlando — 5:36 am ET (0936 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list