spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Rockot launches four satellites
Posted: Sun, Jul 29, 2012, 11:48 AM ET (1548 GMT)
Rockot launch of SERVIS-2 (Eurockot) A Russian Rockot vehicle, launching for the first time in a year in a half, placed four small satellites into orbit on Saturday. The Rockot lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 9:35 pm EDT Friday (0135 GMT, 5:35 am Moscow time Saturday) and placed four satellites into highly inclined orbits at an altitude of about 1,500 kilometers. Three of the satellites are store-and-forward communications satellites, one for the military and designated Cosmos 2481, and two civilian Gonets-M satellites. The four satellite on the Rockot was a small technology demonstration satellite called MiR. The launch was the first for the Rockot since February 1, 2011, when a problem with the Rockot's upper stage stranded a small military satellite in the wrong orbit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Hubble finds potential KBO targets for New Horizons
Posted: Mon, Oct 20 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)

X-37B lands in California
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:24 AM ET (1324 GMT)

MIT professor nominated to become NASA deputy administrator
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:07 AM ET (1307 GMT)

news links
Monday, October 20
Astronomers get unprecedented view of comet swinging past Mars
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
Soil Moisture Satellite Arrives At Vandenberg Air Force Base
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
NASA Astronaut to speak at Nolan Ryan Junior High
Pearland (TX) Journal — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)
Space launch will reward efforts at GSCC
Gadsden (AL) Times — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)
I’m safe and sound, tweets MOM after comet sighting
The Hindu — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list