spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


North Korea launches satellite
Posted: Wed, Dec 12, 2012, 6:28 AM ET (1128 GMT)
North Korea launched a rocket early Wednesday that appeared to place a small satellite into orbit, a move that took many by surprise. The Unha-3 rocket lifted off from its North Korean launch site at approximately 7:50 pm EST Tuesday (0050 GMT, 9:50 am local time Wednesday). Official government media announced that the launch was a success, and NORAD reported it was tracking what appeared to be the rocket's satellite and upper stage in orbit. The satellite, Kwangmyongsong-3 F2, is thought to be a small remote sensing satellite. The launch was unexpected to many as North Korean officials said earlier in the week that the launch was postponed, until perhaps late in the month, for technical reasons. The launch has been widely condemned internationally because of concerns that the rocket's primary purpose is as a long-range ballistic missile. North Korea made three previous, unsuccessful, attempts to place a satellite into orbit before Wednesday's launch.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 fails on cargo mission to ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 28 3:24 PM ET (1924 GMT)

OneWeb announces $500 million in funding, launch contracts
Posted: Sat, Jun 27 10:05 AM ET (1405 GMT)

China launches Earth imaging satellite
Posted: Sat, Jun 27 9:54 AM ET (1354 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 29
The aftermath of a launch failure
The Space Review — 5:10 pm ET (2110 GMT)
Untangling the knot: fix Congress, pioneer space
The Space Review — 5:08 pm ET (2108 GMT)
Way out there in The Black: orbiting Pluto
The Space Review — 5:07 pm ET (2107 GMT)
Review: The Nazis Next Door
The Space Review — 5:06 pm ET (2106 GMT)
How We’ll Live on Mars by Stephen Petranek
Sunday Times of London — 5:54 am ET (0954 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list