spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas launches new Landsat satellite
Posted: Tue, Feb 12, 2013, 7:16 AM ET (1216 GMT)
Atlas5 launch of LDCM/Landsat 8 (ULA) An Atlas 5 rocket successfully placed the newest Landsat remote sensing satellite into orbit on Monday. The Atlas 5 rocket lifted off from Space Launch Complex 3 at Vandenberg Air Force Base, California, at 1:02 pm EST (1802 GMT) and released the Landsat Data Continuity Mission (LDCM) spacecraft into a sun-synchronous orbit 79 minutes later. The Orbital Sciences-built spacecraft, weighing about 2,780 kilograms, is the latest in a series of earth sciences spacecraft dating back 40 years, and the first Landsat spacecraft since Landsat 7, launched in 1999. The spacecraft will be renamed Landsat 8 and handed over to the US Geological Survey for normal operations in about three months.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Galileo resumes service after extended outage
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:25 AM ET (1425 GMT)

Bridenstine says NASA still considering 2033 human Mars mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)

SpaceX blames Crew dragon accident on faulty valve
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 22
Kleos Space will use launch delay to further enhance satellite strategy
Proactive Investors Australia — 4:02 am ET (0802 GMT)
Could you survive a trip to Mars?
Australian National University — 3:59 am ET (0759 GMT)
County announces SpaceX closures
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 3:58 am ET (0758 GMT)
Apollo to Artemis to Mars: What's next for NASA Langley?
Hampton Roads Virginian-Pilot — 3:56 am ET (0756 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list