spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Antares completes static-fire engine test
Posted: Sat, Feb 23, 2013, 10:09 AM ET (1509 GMT)
Antares hot fire test (OSC) the first stage engines of Orbital Sciences Corporation's Antares launch vehicle roared to life on a Virginia launch pad Friday evening for nearly half a minute in a key final test before the rocket's inaugural launch. The two AJ26 engines in the Antares first stage, mounted on its launch pad at the Mid Atlantic Regional Spaceport (MARS) on Wallops Island, Virginia, fired for 29 seconds at 6 pm EST (2300 GMT) Friday to test the performance of the vehicle's systems. Orbital officials said Friday night that the test appeared to be a success. A successful test would clear the way for the first launch of the Antares rocket, most likely in early April. Orbital is developing the Antares to launch its Cygnus spacecraft to transport cargo to the International Space Station and for launching other satellites.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
India launches GSLV Mark 3 on successful test flight
Posted: Thu, Dec 18 7:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)

NASA postpones decision on asteroid mission design
Posted: Thu, Dec 18 6:50 AM ET (1150 GMT)

Curiosity detects methane "spikes" in Martian atmosphere
Posted: Wed, Dec 17 7:41 AM ET (1241 GMT)

news links
Friday, December 19
A Sunrise Viewed From The Edge Of Space
Forbes.com — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
World View video shows sunrise from near space
Albuquerque Journal — 6:30 am ET (1130 GMT)
It’s a great odyssey, say SHAR scientists
The Hindu — 6:28 am ET (1128 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list