spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


EUVE to reenter by Thursday
Posted: Wed, Jan 30, 2002, 8:33 AM ET (1333 GMT)
EUVE NASA's Extreme Ultraviolet Explorer (EUVE) spacecraft is expected to reenter the Earth's atmosphere by Thursday morning, the space agency announced Tuesday. The spacecraft is scheduled to come down between 10 pm EST Wednesday and 7 am EST Thursday (0300 to 1200 GMT Thursday); an exact time of reentry will not be known until 12 hours before impact. Up to 100 kilograms of titanium and stainless steel from the 3,200-kg spacecraft could survive reentry and crash to Earth, although NASA officials stressed that those pieces will most likely crash into the ocean. The impact site will be between 28.5 degrees north and south latitude. EUVE was launched in June 1992 on a three-year mission to survey the universe at extreme ultraviolet wavelengths, a band of light not visible from the surface of the Earth. EUVE continues operating until January 2001, after NASA determined that continued operation of the spacecraft was not cost-effective.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Thursday, August 16
Grant accepted at Cecil Spaceport
Jacksonville (FL) Daily Record — 8:27 am ET (1227 GMT)
Defense firms bullish on ‘Space Force’
The Hill — 7:26 am ET (1126 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list