spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather delays launch of Japanese reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Thu, Jan 29, 2015, 8:01 AM ET (1301 GMT)
Poor weather pushed back Thursday's scheduled launch of a Japanese reconnaissance satellite until at least Sunday. An H-2A was scheduled to launch from the Tanegashima Space Center at 8:21 pm EST Wednesday (0121 GMT, 10:21 am local time Thursday) but cloudy conditions forced launch controllers to postpone the launch. The Japanese space agency JAXA said in a statement that the launch is now planned for the same time on Sunday, February 1, pending weather conditions. The rocket is carrying the latest in a series of Information Gathering Satellites used for reconnaissance by the Japanese military; this satellite will serve as a spare for existing spacecraft.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz upper stage issue may delay first OneWeb launch
Posted: Sat, Feb 2 10:34 AM ET (1534 GMT)

SSL backs out of satellite servicing program with DARPA
Posted: Sat, Feb 2 10:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)


news links
Saturday, February 16
Building a better booster (part 1)
The Space Review — 3:49 pm ET (2049 GMT)
A helping hand for giant telescopes
The Space Review — 3:48 pm ET (2048 GMT)
A space-focused alternative to a Green New Deal
The Space Review — 3:47 pm ET (2047 GMT)
Review: War in Space
The Space Review — 3:46 pm ET (2046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list