spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Winds postpone Delta 2 launch a day
Posted: Thu, Jan 29, 2015, 9:37 PM ET (0237 GMT)
Delta 2 before SMAP launch (NASA) High upper level winds forced launch controllers to postpone the launch of a NASA Earth sciences satellite by a day. The Delta 2 7320 was scheduled to launch at 9:20 am EST (1420 GMT) from Vandenberg Air Force Base, California. While there were no issues with the launch vehicle or spacecraft, and forecasts called for a 90-percent chance of acceptable weather, gusty upper level winds forced mission managers to scrub the launch. The launch is now scheduled for the same time Friday. The rocket is carrying the Soil Moisture Active Passive (SMAP) spacecraft, designed to provide global measurements of soil measure for weather, climate, and related Earth science applications.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
FCC chairman endorses SpaceX satellite constellation
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:29 PM ET (2329 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress after delay
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:27 PM ET (2327 GMT)

NASA budget proposal seeks to cancel WFIRST
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:20 PM ET (2320 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, February 20
The challenges of life in space
Edwardsville (IL) Intelligencer — 7:23 pm ET (0023 GMT)
Cancelling WFIRST Will Permanently Ruin NASA
Forbes.com — 7:22 pm ET (0022 GMT)
Budget proposal: NASA locks down $19.9B
Sandusky (OH) Register — 7:20 pm ET (0020 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list