spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


H-2A lifts off on second flight
Updated: Mon, Feb 4, 2002, 8:34 AM ET (1334 GMT)
Originally Posted: Mon, Feb 4, 2002, 12:56 AM ET (0556 GMT)
H-2A launch on second flight (NASDA) A Japanese H-2A booster launched Monday on the second successful test flight for the new vehicle. The H-2A lifted off from the Tanegashima Space Center at 9:45 pm EST Sunday night (0245 GMT, 11:45 am JST Monday). The booster placed into orbit an experimental satellite and a test payload, as well as a hypersonic reentry demonstrator. However, according to later reports communications have not been established with the DASH reentry demonstrators, raising concerns that the spacecraft failed. The launch was the second for the H-2A, after another successful launch in August 2001. The H-2A is an upgraded version of the H-2 booster that the Japanese space agency NASDA retired after successive launch failures in 1998 and 1999.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:44 PM ET (2244 GMT)

Arianespace plans a record number of launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)

Orbital ATK wins Galaxy 30 order
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)

news links
Saturday, January 20
The new space race
The Economist — 9:47 am ET (1447 GMT)
No launch for Rocket Lab today
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 9:44 am ET (1444 GMT)
Rocket Lab forced to abort launch again
NZCity — 9:43 am ET (1443 GMT)
Rocket Lab second test called off for today
Radio New Zealand — 9:43 am ET (1443 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list