spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Mon, Mar 2, 2015, 7:20 AM ET (1220 GMT)
Falcon 9 v1.1 launch of ABS 3A/Eutelsat 115 West B (SpaceX) A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket successfully launched a pair of small communications satellites Sunday night. The Falcon 9 v1.1 rocket lifted off on schedule at 10:50 pm EST Sunday (0350 GMT Monday) from Cape Canaveral, Florida, and released the ABS 3A and Eutelsat 115 West B satellites into supersynchronous transfer orbits about a half-hour later. The two satellites are the first Boeing 702SP "all-electric" communications satellites that rely entirely on ion thrusters for both stationkeeping and orbit raising. ABS 3A, to operate from 3 degrees west in GEO, will provide C- and Ku-band communications services for Asia Broadcast Satellite. Eutelsat 115 West B will operate from 114.9 degrees west in GEO to provide C- and Ku-band services for Eutelsat; the satellite has originally been ordered by Mexican operator Satmex prior to its acquisition by Eutelsat.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
FCC chairman endorses SpaceX satellite constellation
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:29 PM ET (2329 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress after delay
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:27 PM ET (2327 GMT)

NASA budget proposal seeks to cancel WFIRST
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:20 PM ET (2320 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, February 20
The challenges of life in space
Edwardsville (IL) Intelligencer — 7:23 pm ET (0023 GMT)
Cancelling WFIRST Will Permanently Ruin NASA
Forbes.com — 7:22 pm ET (0022 GMT)
Budget proposal: NASA locks down $19.9B
Sandusky (OH) Register — 7:20 pm ET (0020 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list