spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronauts wrap up series of ISS spacewalks
Posted: Mon, Mar 2, 2015, 7:11 AM ET (1211 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2015 March 1 (NASA) Two NASA astronauts completed the last in a series of three spacewalks outside the International Space Station on Sunday to prepare the station for future commercial crew vehicles. Astronauts Terry Virts and Barry Wilmore completed a five-hour, 38-minute spacewalk Sunday at 12:30 pm EST (1730 GMT). The two completed the installation of cables outside the station and several communications antennas that will be used by future commercial crew vehicles under development by Boeing and SpaceX. The two astronauts spent 19 hours outside the station over the course of three spacewalks to prepare the station for commercial crew docking ports to be installed later this year. Virts, who reported a small amount of water in his suit helmet after his second EVA on Wednesday, said he noticed some in his helmet on this EVA, but less than earlier.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list