spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


New crew arrives at ISS
Posted: Sat, Mar 28, 2015, 7:45 AM ET (1145 GMT)
Soyuz TMA-16M launch (NASA) Two Russians and one American arrived at the International Space Station Friday night, six hours after their launch from Kazakhstan. A Soyuz rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 3:42 pm EDT Friday (1942 GMT Friday, 1:42 am local time Saturday) and placed the Soyuz TMA-16M spacecraft into orbit. The spacecraft docked with the Poisk module of the ISS at 9:33 pm EDT Friday (0133 GMT Saturday), and hatches separating the Soyuz and station opened two hours later. The Soyuz brought to the station American astronaut Scott Kelly and Russian cosmonauts Mikhail Kornienko and Gennady Padalka, who joined the America, Russian, and Italian ISS crewmembers. Kelly and Kornienko will spend nearly one year on the station to help scientists better understand the medical effects of long-duration spaceflight.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 18
Get an Inside Look at SpaceX's Astronaut Training Sims
Wired News — 8:52 am ET (1252 GMT)
Space Force, Done Right, Will Move U.S. Ahead
The Heritage Foundation — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)
National Academies: NASA needs a plan for Mars
The Planetary Society — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list