spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launches two satellites
Posted: Tue, Apr 28, 2015, 8:42 AM ET (1242 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch of Sicral 2 and Thor 7, April 2015 (Arianespace) An Ariane 5 rocket successfully launched two satellites on Sunday. The Ariane 5 lifted off at 4:00 pm EDT (2000 GMT) and released the Sicral 2 and Thor 7 satellites into geostationary transfer orbits a half-hour later. Sicral 2, a 4,400-kilogram satellite built by Thales Alenia Space for the militaries of France and Italy, will provide UHF and SHF communications services. The 4,600-kilogram Thor 7, built by Space Systems Loral for Telenor, will provide Ka- and Ku-band communications services from 0.8 degrees west in GEO for the Norwegian operator. The launch was originally planned for mid-April but delayed twice because of two separate technical problems.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Saturday, May 26
Rocket Lab announces new mission launch window
New Zealand Herald — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Rocket Lab's new window for first launch
NEWS.com.au — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
7 things we learned about SpaceX from COO Gwynne Shotwell
Los Angeles Business Journal — 9:24 am ET (1324 GMT)
Sir Richard Branson training to be astronaut as space race hots up
Press Association — 9:14 am ET (1314 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list