spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


New Horizons goes into safe mode
Posted: Sun, Jul 5, 2015, 11:34 AM ET (1534 GMT)
New Horizons illustration (JHUAPL) NASA's New Horizons spacecraft went into a protective safe mode Saturday, less than ten days before the spacecraft makes its closest approach to Pluto. The spacecraft stopped communicating with the ground at 1:54 pm EDT (1754 GMT) Saturday, resuming communications at 3:15 pm EDT (1915 GMT). NASA said in a statement late Saturday evening that the spacecraft suffered an anomaly with its primary computer, putting the spacecraft into a safe mode as its autopilot switched to a backup computer to resume communications. Restoring normal operations could take "one to several days," according to the statement, disrupting observations of Pluto during that time as the spacecraft approaches. New Horizons will fly past Pluto on the morning of July 14.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list