spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches communications test satellite
Posted: Tue, Sep 15, 2015, 8:10 AM ET (1210 GMT)
China launched Saturday what it says is an experimental communications satellite. The Long March 3B rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 11:42 am EDT (1542 GMT, 11:42 pm Beijing time) Saturday and placed the spacecraft, unofficially called the Communications Engineering Test Satellite-1, into orbit. The spacecraft, according to Chinese media reports, will be used to test Ka-band communications technologies. Some outside observers speculated the launch might be part of an effort to develop missile early warning systems.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 16
A look behind the scenes at the Parker Solar Probe
Johns Hopkins University — 12:12 am ET (0412 GMT)
MIT's 'Orbit Weaver' Turns Astronauts into Spiders
Motherboard — 12:11 am ET (0411 GMT)
Hello, Crew Dragon: SpaceX inches closer to testing new manned capsule
Orlando Business Journal — 12:10 am ET (0410 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list