spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 2 launch delayed again, next attempt Sunday
Updated: Sun, Feb 10, 2002, 9:10 AM ET (1410 GMT)
Originally Posted: Sat, Feb 9, 2002, 12:57 PM ET (1757 GMT)
Delta 2 launch file photo (Boeing) The launch of a Delta 2 rocket, scheduled for Saturday, has been delayed again, this time because of problems with a support plane. Mechanical problems with a P-3 plane used to collect telemetry during the Delta launch forced launch controllers to scrub the launch more than three and a half hours before its scheduled 12:54 pm EST (1754 GMT) launch from Vandenberg Air Force Base, California. Boeing announced late Saturday that they plan another launch attempt Sundat at 12:49 pm EST (1749 GMT), despite only a 20 percent chance of acceptable weather. The Delta, carrying five replacement Iridium spacecraft, was scheduled to launch Friday but that launch attempt was stopped at T-55 seconds when a wind gust caused the booster to sway beyond acceptable limits. The launch, when it does take place, will the 101st for the Delta 2 family, and the first Delta 2 launch of 2002.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 20
A fraying spaceflight infrastructure
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Asteroid mining: appealing to our romantic side?
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Review: Above and Beyond
The Space Review — 10:17 am ET (1417 GMT)
What A Space Force Could Mean For Greater Boston
WBUR-FM Boston — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list