spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather delays Atlas launch of Cygnus
Posted: Sun, Dec 6, 2015, 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)
Atlas 5 on pad during Cygnus scrub, Dec 2015 (NASA) Poor weather at Cape Canaveral has kept an Atlas 5 carrying a Cygnus cargo spacecraft bound for the International Space Station grounded for three straight days. The Atlas 5 was scheduled to launch Thursday, but was scrubbed because of clouds and rain; launch attempts Friday and Saturday were also postponed because of gusty winds. The launch is now scheduled for 4:44 pm EST (2144 GMT) Sunday, with a 40 percent chance of acceptable weather. The Cygnus is loaded with more than 3,500 kilograms of cargo for the ISS. The launch is the first time the Cygnus has flown on an Atlas, and the first Cygnus mission since an Antares launch failure in October 2014.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 20
A fraying spaceflight infrastructure
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Asteroid mining: appealing to our romantic side?
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Review: Above and Beyond
The Space Review — 10:17 am ET (1417 GMT)
What A Space Force Could Mean For Greater Boston
WBUR-FM Boston — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list