spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Mintotaur 4 launches ORS-5
Posted: Sun, Aug 27, 2017, 10:20 AM ET (1420 GMT)
Minotaur 4 launch of ORS-5 (Orbital ATK) An Orbital ATK Minotaur 4 rocket launched a space surveillance satellite for the US Air Force in the early morning hours Saturday. The Minotaur 4 lifted off from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida at 2:04 am EDT (0604 GMT), nearly three hours into a four-hour launch window because of weather around the launch site. The rocket deployed the Operational Responsive Space (ORS) 5 into a low Earth equatorial orbit nearly half an hour later. ORS-5, also known as SensorSat, was developed by the Air Force's ORS Office to support space surveillance activities. The launch was the first from Cape Canaveral for the Minotaur 4, a vehicle that uses decommissioned Peacekeeper motors for its lower stages.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list