spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


H-2A launches Earth science and technology demonstration spacecraft
Posted: Sun, Dec 24, 2017, 4:05 PM ET (2105 GMT)
H-2A launch of GCOM-C, Dec 2017 (JAXA) A Japanese H-2A rocket launched a climate change observation satellite and a technology demonstration spacecraft Saturday. The H-2A rocket lifted off from the Tanegashima Space Center at 8:26 pm EST Friday (0126 GMT, 10:26 am local time Saturday). Its primary payload was the Global Change Observation Mission-Climate (GCOM-C) spacecraft, renamed Shikisai after launch. The spacecraft carries visible and infrared instruments to provide surface and atmospheric measurements. The launch also placed into orbit the Super Low Altitude Test Satellite (SLATS), also known as Tsubame. The satellite is designed to fly in an orbit as low as 180 kilometers, using an ion engine to maintain its orbit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:44 PM ET (2244 GMT)

Arianespace plans a record number of launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)

Orbital ATK wins Galaxy 30 order
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)

news links
Thursday, January 18
First ICEYE-X1 Radar Image from Space Published
PR Newswire — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
U.S. missile-deterrence to get upgrade from Florida launch
Orlando Sentinel — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)
Iridium confident NEXT will remain on track; all eyes on Falcon Heavy
Runway Girl Network — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list