spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas 5 launches SBIRS satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 20, 2018, 6:48 PM ET (2348 GMT)
Atlas 5 411 launch of SBIRS GEO-4 (ULA) A United Launch Alliance Atlas 5 successfully launched the fourth in a series of missile warning satellites Friday night. The Atlas 5 411 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 7:48 pm EST Friday (0048 GMT Saturday) carrying the SBIRS GEO-4 satellite. The spacecraft separated from the Centaur upper stage 37 minutes after liftoff. The satellite, built by Lockheed Martin, joins three others in geostationary orbit with infrared sensors to monitor for missile launches. Two more SBIRS satellites are under development for launch in the early 2020s.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list