spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Countdown begins for STS-109 launch
Posted: Tue, Feb 26, 2002, 2:03 AM ET (0703 GMT)
STS-109 patch (NASA) NASA started the countdown Monday for the Thursday morning launch of the space shuttle Columbia on mission STS-109. The countdown began at 10 am EST (1500 GMT) at the T-43 hour mark for a launch at 6:48 am EST (1148 GMT) Thursday, February 28. No technical problems have been reported to date, and meteorologists are predicting a 70 percent chance of favorable weather conditions at launch time, with cold temperatures the main concern. The purpose of the STS-109 mission is to carry out a set of repairs and upgrades to the Hubble Space Telescope, including a new camera, power system, cooling system, and solar panels. That work will be carried out by four astronauts during five spacewalks scheduled for the mission.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list