spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Rocket Lab launches three military satellites
Posted: Sun, May 5, 2019, 11:48 AM ET (1548 GMT)
Electron launch of STP-27RD mission (Rocket Lab) A Rocket Lab Electron rocket successfully launched three technology demonstration satellites for the Defense Department Sunday. The Electron lifted off from the company's launch site in New Zealand at 2:00 am EDT (0600 GMT) and deployed the three satellites into low Earth orbit nearly an hour later. The rocket was flying a mission for the Defense Department's Space Test Program called STP-27RD, carrying the Harbinger satellite to test SAR imagery technologies, the SPARC-1 cubesat to test avionics, and the Falcon ODE cubesat to help calibrate groundbased tracking systems. The launch was the second this year for the Electron and the sixth overall for the small commercial launch vehicle.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Galileo resumes service after extended outage
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:25 AM ET (1425 GMT)

Bridenstine says NASA still considering 2033 human Mars mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)

SpaceX blames Crew dragon accident on faulty valve
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 22
Kleos Space will use launch delay to further enhance satellite strategy
Proactive Investors Australia — 4:02 am ET (0802 GMT)
Could you survive a trip to Mars?
Australian National University — 3:59 am ET (0759 GMT)
County announces SpaceX closures
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 3:58 am ET (0758 GMT)
Apollo to Artemis to Mars: What's next for NASA Langley?
Hampton Roads Virginian-Pilot — 3:56 am ET (0756 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list