spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


India launches Chandryaan-2 lunar mission
Posted: Sun, Jul 28, 2019, 10:16 AM ET (1416 GMT)
India successfully launched its Chandrayaan-2 lunar mission this morning. The GSLV Mark 3 rocket lifted off at 5:13 am EDT (0913 GMT) Monday from Sriharikota, India, releasing the Chandrayaan-2 spacecraft into an elliptical transfer orbit 16 minutes later. The launch was scheduled for more than a week ago but postponed by what the Indian space agency ISRO described as a "technical snag" with the rocket. Chandrayaan-2 will gradually widen its transfer orbit, arriving at the moon in early September. The mission includes an orbiter and a lander, which will attempt a landing in the south polar regions of the moon.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

Senate introduces NASA authorization bill
Posted: Sun, Nov 10 7:57 AM ET (1257 GMT)

Boeing offers SLS-launched lunar lander for NASA
Posted: Sun, Nov 10 7:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 14
NZ space economy reaches take off, totaling $1.69 billion
Stuff.co.nz — 6:17 am ET (1117 GMT)
Successful Test Takes China Closer to 2020 Mars Mission
Bloomberg News — 6:14 am ET (1114 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list