spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle astronauts wrap up final Hubble spacewalk
Posted: Fri, Mar 8, 2002, 5:52 PM ET (2252 GMT)
STS-109 EVA #5 (NASA) Astronauts successfully completed their work on the Hubble Space Telescope Friday morning with a final spacewalk to install a new cooling unit for an instrument. Astronauts John Grunsfeld and Richard Linnehan spent seven hours and 20 minutes outside the shuttle Columbia Friday morning on the last of five spacewalks planned for the STS-109 mission. The astronauts installed a mechanical cooling unit on the telescope to be used by the NICMOS infrared camera. That camera, installed on Hubble in 1997, originally used a block of solid nitrogen to cool its detectors, but a thermal leak caused the nitrogen to run out in 1999, forcing NASA to shut down the instrument. Astronomers hope that the new mechanical cooling system should cool down the instrument enough to work again, but will not know for several weeks if it works. With the successful completion of all five spacewalks, the shuttle crew is finished with its repairs and upgrades to Hubble, and will release the spacecraft Saturday at 5:03 am EST (1003 GMT). Columbia is scheduled to land at the Kennedy Space Center Tuesday at 4:35 am EST (0935 GMT).
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list