spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas launches TDRS satellite
Posted: Fri, Mar 8, 2002, 9:18 PM ET (0218 GMT)
Atlas 2A launch of TDRS-I (NASA/KSC) An Atlas 2A successfully launched a TDRS communications satellite late Friday. The Atlas lifted off from Pad 36A at Cape Canaveral, Florida at 5:59 pm EST (2259 GMT) Friday. The launch was delayed 20 minutes because of problems with a monitoring system on the ground. Thirty minutes after launch the Atlas released its payload, the TDRS-I satellite, into geostationary transfer orbit. The satellite is the latest Tracking and Data Relay Satellite used by NASA and other government agencies to communicate with the space shuttle, International Space Station, and other spacecraft. The launch is also the next to last for the Atlas 2A, a version of the Atlas 2 that uses no strap-on boosters; the final Atlas 2A launch, of another TDRS spacecraft, is scheduled for late this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Thursday, October 19
Spacecom returns to SpaceX to launch 2 satellites
Globes Online — 5:39 am ET (0939 GMT)
Space: Marketing's Final Frontier
AdAge.com — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)
US and Luxembourg frame laws for new space race
Financial Times — 5:35 am ET (0935 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list