spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA spacecraft set to reenter Sunday
Posted: Fri, Apr 5, 2002, 10:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)
HETE spacecraft illustration (NASA) A NASA spacecraft and its upper stage are predicted to reenter the Earth's atmosphere on Sunday morning, the space agency announced Thursday. The High Energy Transient Experiment 1 (HETE-1) spacecraft, along with the Argentine SAC-B satellite and their Pegasus upper stage, are expected to reenter the atmosphere at approximately 7 am EDT (1100 GMT) Sunday. The exact time and location of the reentry are unknown because the reentry will be uncontrolled and solar flux variations will prevent an exact prediction from being made until a few hours before reentry. The combined mass of the two spacecraft and their upper stage is about 535 kg; about 15 kg worth of stainless steel batteries are expected to survive reentry and reach the ground. The spacecraft were launched in November 1996 on a Pegasus booster but the booster's upper stage failed to release the two spacecraft, preventing either from operating. NASA launched HETE-2, a replacement for HETE-1, in October 2000.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Sunday, May 27
Guess who’s unhappy about Elon Musk’s SpaceX
The Hill — 9:33 am ET (1333 GMT)
Jeff Bezos: ‘We Must Go Back to the Moon, and This Time to Stay’
Wall Street Journal — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
NASA is basically trying to get hacked
The Outline — 9:26 am ET (1326 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list