spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle launch pushed back to Monday
Posted: Fri, Apr 5, 2002, 11:23 PM ET (0423 GMT)
STS-110 patch (NASA) NASA announced Friday that it would delay the launch of the shuttle Atlantis an additional day, to Monday, to allow more time to complete repairs of a hydrogen vent line that leaked on Thursday. The additional day is designed to give crews enough time to fix a cracked weld in a 40-cm diameter aluminum pipe that vents excess hydrogen during fueling of the shuttle's external tank. The weld cracked about an hour into the fueling process on Thursday, forcing NASA to delay the launch first until Friday, then until Sunday. NASA would not disclose the time of the launch, only saying that it is scheduled for between 2 and 6 pm EDT (1800 and 2200 GMT), but outside analysts have estimated the launch time to be 4:36 pm EDT (2036 GMT) based on the orbit of the International Space Station. Weather is forecast to be excellent in Florida, but poor weather conditions at all three transatlantic orbit landing sites could pose a problem for a Monday launch.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list