spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 2 launches NASA Aqua satellite
Posted: Sat, May 4, 2002, 10:21 AM ET (1421 GMT)
Delta 2 launch of Aqua (NASA) A Delta 2 rocket successfully launched NASA's Aqua Earth-observing satellite early Saturday morning. The Delta 2 lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base, California, at 5:55 am EDT (0955 GMT); the Aqua spacecraft separated from the booster an hour after liftoff. From its perch in a 700-km Sun-synchronous orbit, Aqua will focus on observations of the oceans, atmospheres, ice packs, and other water-related terrestrial phenomena. The spacecraft is the second in NASA's Earth Observing System (EOS), after the two-year-old Terra. A third EOS spacecraft is scheduled for launch in 2004.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, September 22
D.C. Digest: Sen. Inhofe mulls space force proposal
Tulsa World — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)
SpaceX’s Moon Trip Is the Ultimate Artist Residency
The Atlantic — 9:18 am ET (1318 GMT)
Astronaut foresees coming boost in NASA interest
FederalNewsRadio.com — 9:17 am ET (1317 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list