spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz, Shuttleworth return to Earth
Posted: Sun, May 5, 2002, 9:08 AM ET (1308 GMT)
Shuttleworth after Soyuz landing A Soyuz spacecraft carrying three people, including space tourist Mark Shuttleworth, landed safely in Kazakhstan late Saturday night, ending their 10-day trip in space. The soyuz TM-33 spacecraft touched down near the town of Arkalyk, Kazakhstan at 11:51 pm EDT (0351 GMT), three hours and 20 minutes after undocking from the International Space Station. All three members of the crew — Russian commander Yuri Gidzenko, Italian astronaut Roberto Vittori, and Shuttleworth — were reported to be in good health after the landing. Shuttleworth, an Internet millionaire who became the first African to fly in space, called the flight "the best thing I've ever done." Shuttleworth paid a reported $20 million for the flight, and has paid an additional undisclosed sum to purchase the Soyuz spacecraft itself. The flight was primarily designed to swap out the Soyuz spacecraft used as lifeboats for the ISS's permanent crew; those spacecraft have a six-month life in orbit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 20
A fraying spaceflight infrastructure
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Asteroid mining: appealing to our romantic side?
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Review: Above and Beyond
The Space Review — 10:17 am ET (1417 GMT)
What A Space Force Could Mean For Greater Boston
WBUR-FM Boston — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list