spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Mars Odyssey deploys science boom
Posted: Wed, Jun 5, 2002, 2:32 PM ET (1832 GMT)
Mars Odyssey spacecraft illustration NASA's Mars Odyssey spacecraft deployed a boom with a major scientific instrument on the end of it Tuesday, mission managers reported. The 6.2-meter boom successfully extended from the body of the spacecraft on Tuesday at around 3 pm EDT (1900 GMT). On the end of the boom is the sensor head for the spacecraft's gamma-ray spectrometer. Placing the sensor far from the main body of the spacecraft minimizes interference from any gamma rays emanating from the spacecraft itself. With the boom fully deployed the sensitivity and accuracy of the spectrometer’s measurements should improve measurements of hydrogen and other elements in the Martian rocks and soil.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, September 22
D.C. Digest: Sen. Inhofe mulls space force proposal
Tulsa World — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)
SpaceX’s Moon Trip Is the Ultimate Artist Residency
The Atlantic — 9:18 am ET (1318 GMT)
Astronaut foresees coming boost in NASA interest
FederalNewsRadio.com — 9:17 am ET (1317 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list