space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Zenit launches Galaxy 3C
Posted: Sun, Jun 16, 2002, 12:16 AM ET (0416 GMT)
Zenit 3SL launch of Galaxy 3C A Zenit 3SL booster successfully launched a communications satellite Saturday for the multinational Sea Launch venture. The Zenit 3SL lifted off from its floating launch pad on the Equator in the Pacific Ocean south of Hawaii at 6:39 pm EDT (2239 GMT). Its payload, the Galaxy 3C satellite, successfully separated from the upper stage 62 minutes after launch. Galaxy 3C will be used by PanAmSat to provide communications services for the US and Latin America from a final position in geosynchronous orbit at 95 degrees west. The 4,850-kg Boeing 702 spacecraft is equipped with 24 C-band and 52 Ku-band transponders. The launch is the first for the Boeing 702 series of spacecraft after a problem was discovered with solar concentrators on earlier versions of the spacecraft that will cause power production to decline over time; Galaxy 3C is equipped with new solar panels that do not use concentrators. The launch is also the first for Sea Launch since it launched an XM Satellite Radio spacecraft in May 2001. Sea Launch, a venture led by Boeing with participation from Russian, Ukrainian, and Norwegian firms, plans at least two more launches this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Atlas 5 launches GOES-S weather satellite
Posted: Sat, Mar 3 2:11 PM ET (1911 GMT)

GAO warns of more JWST delays
Posted: Sat, Mar 3 2:08 PM ET (1908 GMT)

Soyuz returns crew to Earth
Posted: Sat, Mar 3 2:03 PM ET (1903 GMT)

news links
Saturday, March 17
Tory Bruno of United Launch Alliance to visit CU Boulder
Univ. of Colorado — 9:02 am ET (1302 GMT)
SpaceX is making big money moves
TechCrunch — 9:00 am ET (1300 GMT)
Air Force: GPS Satellites Vulnerable to Attack
Washington Free Beacon — 8:57 am ET (1257 GMT)

about   ·   ·   mailing list