spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches third German radar satellite
Posted: Thu, Nov 1 7:20 AM ET (1120 GMT)
A Russian Kosmos rocket launched the third in a series of German radar reconnaissance satellites early Thursday. The Kosmos-3M rocket lifted off from the...

Solar panel tears during redeployment
Posted: Wed, Oct 31 8:21 AM ET (1221 GMT)
A newly-relocated solar panel on the International Space Station ripped during its redeployment on Tuesday, and NASA is considering a further extension of the...

NASA makes exploration field assignments
Posted: Wed, Oct 31 8:08 AM ET (1208 GMT)
NASA announced on Tuesday a series of assignments to its field centers that outline their long-term responsibilities in carrying out the Vision for Space...

Shuttle mission extended to study ISS problem
Posted: Tue, Oct 30 8:10 AM ET (1210 GMT)
NASA has extended the mission of the space shuttle Discovery by a day to allow astronauts to better study a problem with a solar array...

Armadillo fails to win Lunar Lander Challenge
Posted: Tue, Oct 30 7:59 AM ET (1159 GMT)
Armadillo Aerospace failed to win either level of the Northrop Grumman Lunar Lander Challenge at the X Prize Cup in New Mexico on Sunday after...

Astronauts enter Harmony
Posted: Sun, Oct 28 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)
Astronauts entered the International Space Station's newest module, Harmony, on Saturday, checking out the module while also preparing for the next spacewalk of the...

Armadillo falls short in first bid to win lander prize
Posted: Sun, Oct 28 8:35 AM ET (1235 GMT)
Armadillo Aerospace came within ten seconds of winning level one of the Northrop Grumman Lunar Lander Challenge competition Saturday at the X Prize Cup before...

Rocketplane unveils new XP design
Posted: Sat, Oct 27 8:39 AM ET (1239 GMT)
Rocketplane Global revealed on Friday a new design for its XP suborbital spaceplane that the company plans to have flying in 2010. The new design...

Harmony module added to ISS
Posted: Fri, Oct 26 9:32 PM ET (0132 GMT)
The crews of the International Space Station and space shuttle Discovery added a new node module to the station as part of a six-hour...

Proton returns to flight with GLONASS launch
Posted: Fri, Oct 26 9:31 AM ET (1331 GMT)
A Russian Proton rocket launched three navigation satellites Friday in the first flight for the booster since a failure less than two months ago. The...



news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 15
Countdown begins after Sutherland wins space race
The Daily Express — 11:53 pm ET (0353 GMT)
Lockheed chosen to launch Britain’s commercial space age
Financial Times — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Virgin Orbit agreement to launch satellites from Cornwall
UK Aviation News — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Scotland chosen for UK’s first spaceport
The Scotsman — 11:48 pm ET (0348 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list