spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Report: former NASA official latest space tourist candidate
Posted: Thu, Mar 7 8:04 AM ET (1304 GMT)
Former NASA associate administrator Lori Garver is the latest name to surface in the race to be the third commercial space tourist, SPACE.com reported...

Third Shenzhou launch expected soon
Posted: Thu, Mar 7 7:43 AM ET (1243 GMT)
Chinese officials said Wednesday that "final preparations" are underway for the third test flight of the Shenzhou spacecraft, AFP reported. The AFP article cited statements...

News briefs: March 6
Posted: Thu, Mar 7 7:30 AM ET (1230 GMT)
Boeing received $336 million from the US Air Force Wednesday to build two military communications satellites. The Wideband Gapfiller Satellite (WGS) program will use Boeing...

FUSE spacecraft resumes operations
Posted: Thu, Mar 7 7:15 AM ET (1215 GMT)
NASA's Far Ultraviolet Spectroscopic Explorer (FUSE) spacecraft has resumed scientific operations for the first time since it went into safe mode in December, NASA...

Shuttle astronauts complete third critical Hubble EVA
Posted: Wed, Mar 6 2:43 PM ET (1943 GMT)
Shuttle astronauts successfully performed the equivalent of a “heart transplant” on the Hubble Space Telescope Wednesday morning, swapping out a power control unit on the...

First Atlas 5 launch delayed a month
Posted: Wed, Mar 6 7:58 AM ET (1258 GMT)
The first launch of the Atlas 5 will be delayed at least a month because of payload problems, Space News reported Tuesday. The Atlas 5...

News briefs: March 5
Posted: Wed, Mar 6 7:44 AM ET (1244 GMT)
The latest NASA communications satellite is ready for launch this Friday, the agency announced. The Tracking and Data Relay Satellite I (TDRS-I) is scheduled...

Solar sail flight delayed until September
Posted: Wed, Mar 6 7:29 AM ET (1229 GMT)
The Planetary Society recently announced that it will delay the launch of its solar sail mission until September. The flight of Cosmos 1 was scheduled...

Second Hubble EVA a success
Posted: Tue, Mar 5 2:25 PM ET (1925 GMT)
Two astronauts completed the second of five spacewalks early Tuesday to repair and upgrade the Hubble Space Telescope. Astronauts Mike Massimino and Jim Newman spent...

News briefs: March 4
Posted: Tue, Mar 5 8:08 AM ET (1308 GMT)
The Indian Space Research Organisation and the Brazilian Space Agency have signed a memorandum of understanding to facilitate cooperation between the two agencies. The MOU,...



news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 22
Space interest gets boost from Orlando Science Center
Orlando Sentinel — 9:08 am ET (1308 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list