spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Audit criticizes NASA finances
Posted: Tue, Mar 5 7:44 AM ET (1244 GMT)
An audit of NASA's budget released last week concluded that the agency's bookkeeping was so poor that independent auditors could not even rule...

Astronauts complete first Hubble EVA
Posted: Mon, Mar 4 1:47 PM ET (1847 GMT)
Two shuttle astronauts successfully completed the first of five Hubble Space Telescope repair spacewalks early Monday. Astronauts John Grunsfeld and Rick Linnehan spent seven hours...

Northrop makes hostile bid for TRW
Posted: Mon, Mar 4 1:28 PM ET (1828 GMT)
Northrop Grumman announced late Sunday it was making a hostile takeover bid for rival company TRW as TRW announced it was rejecting Northrop's friendly...

News briefs: March 2-3
Posted: Mon, Mar 4 7:58 AM ET (1258 GMT)
Russian president Vladimir Putin wants to beef up military space programs to prevent the nation from becoming "blind and deaf" in military intelligence, Aviation Week...

Pioneer 10 phones home
Posted: Sun, Mar 3 1:55 PM ET (1855 GMT)
The NASA spacecraft Pioneer 10 contacted controllers on Earth Saturday, 30 years to the day after it was launched into the outer solar system. Spacecraft...

Shuttle captures Hubble
Posted: Sun, Mar 3 9:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)
The space shuttle Columbia grappled the Hubble Space Telescope early Sunday and locked it in place in the shuttle's cargo bay, setting the stage...

Shuttle cleared to continue mission
Posted: Sat, Mar 2 6:07 PM ET (2307 GMT)
NASA managers decided Saturday to allow the space shuttle Columbia to continue its Hubble repair mission despite a problem with a clogged coolant line. Shuttle...

Mars Odyssey finds water ice
Posted: Sat, Mar 2 10:21 AM ET (1521 GMT)
NASA's Mars Odyssey spacecraft has detected strong evidence of what appears to be large deposits of water ice below the surface of Mars, scientists...

News briefs: March 1
Posted: Sat, Mar 2 8:35 AM ET (1335 GMT)
The European Aeronautic Defence and Space Company (EADS) is planning a major reorganization of its space business, AFP reported Friday. EADS chairman Francois Auque said...

Coolant problem could hamper shuttle mission
Posted: Sat, Mar 2 12:01 AM ET (0501 GMT)
A problem with a coolant line on the space shuttle Columbia could pose problems for the mission, but shuttle managers said late Friday it was...



news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Thursday, July 19
Astronauts, Your Ride’s Here!
Air & Space — 1:20 am ET (0520 GMT)
Vandenberg Air Force Base transitions to Combined Space Operations Center
KSBY-TV San Luis Obispo, CA — 1:18 am ET (0518 GMT)
Updates on GLXP teams from Israel, India and Japan
SpaceTech Asia — 1:17 am ET (0517 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list